AtThe Library

Published on Thu, Jul 21, 2005 by Debby Farmer

Read More News

At The Library

By Debby Farmer

The large meeting room at the Blaine library was packed with people during the recent 4th of July weekend, all looking for that right book at the right price. Clare Nurre, the wondrous “Book Sale Lady” surpassed her goal of $1,000 after the three-day blow-out book sale event. She was aided by an equally wondrous crew of fellow Friends of the Library – Sandra Bogen (and husband, Ron) Elaine Scott-Lerner (and daughters, Stephanie and Catherine) and Michelle Morales. Thanks to all who lent a hand, donated or purchased items. Proceeds benefit the library in a variety of ways including the purchase of summer reading club prizes, library decorations, children’s magazine subscriptions, etc. Look forward to the next book sale bonanza coming up during the first weekend in December.

“Dragons, Dreams, and Daring Deeds,” the children’s summer reading program, has brought in almost 250 ‘Royal Readers’ so far, with a total count to date of 1,275 books read! The jewel-encrusted banner (each jewel representing five books read) is already dazzling onlookers, and many participants are submitting their guesses in the weekly game “How many books did Sir-Read-A-Lot Read?” The teen program, “Joust Read” membership is up to 43, with hundreds of book reviews being submitted, each equal to an entry into a weekly prize drawing. Children’s game and teen prize drawing winners receive cool prizes like Birch Bay Waterslides and Miniature World passes, McDonalds treats, and book certificates.

It’s that time again to reorder magazine subscriptions. If you’d like to see a particular magazine title remain in the Blaine library collection, please be faithful in checking it out, or indicating on the appropriate slip that you’ve enjoyed reading it in the library. With today’s budget restrictions, every item on the shelf needs to pull its weight, and if not, be weeded to allow room for something that does. This is also the time to offer suggestions of other magazines that would appeal to the community readers.

Stop by and check out the audio books on tape or CD for those summer road trips. Take a look at our upcoming bestsellers list and be the first to get your request in for your favorite author’s newest release. Fans of Catherine Coulter, Nicholas Evans, Jack Higgins, Ed McBain, Robert B. Parker, Anne Perry, Douglas Preston, Alexander McCall Smith, and Nicholas Sparks take note!

And if you’ve been away from civilization for awhile and haven’t heard – Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is here!

More than 90 copies of the book, book on tape and book on CD are available. Individuals are encouraged to sign up now.