WSU master gardeners offer free clinics

Published on Wed, Apr 21, 2010
Read More News

The Washington State University’s master gardeners program of Whatcom County has scheduled a series of free gardening workshops at Hovander Homestead Park every other Sunday May 16 through October 17. 

The following is a list of events:

Sunday, May 16: “Grow Your Own Vegetables: Part I – Soil Preparation.”

Sunday, May 30: “Grow Your Own Vegetables: Part II – Planting and Maintaining the Garden.”

Sunday, June 13: “Wise Watering Practices and Drip Irrigation Systems.”

Sunday, June 27: “Which Weeds Do I Have?”

Sunday, July 11: “Grow Your Own Garden, Part III: Harvesting and Preparing for a Winter Garden.”

Sunday, July 25: “Pests and Beneficial Insects.”

Sunday, August 8: “Why Use Native Plants?”

Sunday, August 22: “Choices for a Winter Garden.”

Sunday, September 5: “Saving Seeds and Propagating Perennials by Cuttings.”

Sunday, September 19: “Caring for Your Tools and Lawnmower.”

Sunday, October 3: “Garlic and the Onion Family: When to Plant.”

Sunday, October 17: “Pruning Landscape Trees and Shrubs.”

The Master Gardeners also are offering diagnostic plant clinics from 9 a.m. to noon every Wednesday at Hovander Park.

The public is invited to bring sections of diseased plants or pest samples – in closed plastic bags, please – for diagnosis and advice.

Master gardeners will be working at the Hovander display garden on Wednesdays, and are happy to offer cultivating tips to visitors.

WSU-certified master gardeners are volunteers trained by the WSU’s extension service to provide science-based advice.

More information is available at http://whatcom.wsu.edu/mastergardener/index.htm.