Here comes the nutty season

Published on Thu, Jun 17, 2010
Read More News

Getting in his paperwork just minutes before filing week closed, business publisher Tony Larson announced his candidacy for the Whatcom County Council seat being vacated by Ward Nelson.

The race for the district one, position b seat now includes Larson, Whatcom County planning commission chair Jean Melious and health unit coordinator and farmer Theresa Sygitowitzc.

The three will appear on the August 17 primary with the two top vote getters advancing to the November election. Other races of interest include:

2nd Congressional District:
John Carmack, Republican
Larry Kalb, Democrat
John Koster, Republican
Rick Larsen, Democrat (current
U.S. Representative)
Diana McGinness, Democrat

Washington state 42nd Legislative District, House of Representatives

Position 1:
Al Jensen, Democrat
Richard May, Democrat
Craig Mayberry, Independent
Jason Overstreet, Republican
Michael C. Smith, Republican

Position 2:
Vincent Buys, Republican
Rep. Kelli Linville, Democrat
The top two vote getters advance to the general election, regardless of their party affiliation. For example, Jenson and May, both Democrats could conceivably advance to the general election leaving their Republican counterparts behind.