Blaine students earn AP awards

Published on Tue, Nov 23, 2010
Read More News

Eighteen students at Blaine high school have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams.

About 18 percent of the 1.6 million students worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

Six students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Tyler Bellville, Dylan Blake, AJ Pieczynski, Stephani Robinson, Aaron Steelquist and Jeffrey Weltzer.

Twelve students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Morgan Abbey, Michelle Berry, Matthew Fisher, Alexandra Grubb, Cassidy Hill, Emily Kramme, Vincent Lee, Jacquelynn Meaker, Krista Morley, Kyle Olason, Christina Swearinger and Izaac Wilkowski.