County candidates gearing up for primary elections

Published on Thu, Jun 16, 2011 by Jeremy Schwartz

Read More News

The election-filing deadline has come and gone, and those running for office in Whatcom County are now preparing for the primary elections in August.

Washington’s top-two primary, which will take place August 16, selects the two candidates who have received the most votes for each position, regardless of political party affiliation. These two candidates then move on to the general election on November 8.

In Blaine election news, city council member Alan Black has filed to run against longtime Whatcom County council member Barbara Brenner. Black is a retired airline pilot, while Brenner has served on county council since 1991.

Listed below are the contested countywide positions and those that are specific to Blaine or Birch Bay. Uncontested positions have not been listed.

 Port of Bellingham
Commissioner District 3:

 Jim Jorgensen

Michael J. Murphy

Whatcom County

Jack Louws

Doug Ericksen

Tom Anderson

David Stalheim

Council District 1
Position B:

Tony Larson

Pete Kremen

Council District 2
Position B:

Sam R. Crawford

Christina Maginnis

Council District 3
Position B:

Barbara Brenner

Alan Black


J. Lynne Walker

Debbie Adelstein


Bill Elfo

Bob Taylor

Steve Harris


Steven Oliver

Brian Smith

North Whatcom Fire and
Rescue Board of Fire

Pos. 2

Bill Salter
Kelly Gambini

Pos. 5

Larry McPhail

Dean A. Berkeley