Blaine Borderites quality for district meet

Published on Thu, May 21, 2009
Read More Sports

Twenty-one Blaine track athletes have qualified for the district tournament this week at Bellingham’s  Civic Stadium.
Preliminaries for most events were run Wednesday, May 20, and finals will be run Friday, May 22 beginning at 3:30 p.m. To get there the Borderite finalists had to finish among the top nine at last week’s sub-district meet in Burlington.
This week the Cascade League’s best comes to Bellingham and the top four finishers in each event will then move on to the state meet at Mt. Tahoma High School in Tacoma.

On the boys side, Tim Bradley won the 1600 (4:23.39) and got second in the 3200 (9:44.26). Shayne Moore won the 110 hurdles (14.79) and 300 hurdles (39.65) and Mitch Mekovich, the singing spearchucker, won the javelin with a throw of 168 feet five inches and got a ninth in the high jump at 5’2”.

Jacob Rogers took  sixth in the 100 and second in the 400. Caleb Statham took sixth in the 200. Moore, Statham, Rogers and Ephraim Westbrook got a third in the 4x100 relay and second in the 4x400. Tusapa Laolagi got a fifth in the high jump. Blaise Carey got third and Brett Mattson got a fifth in the pole vault.

For the girls, Cherish Morrison won the 100 (12.66), 200 (26.13) and 400 (57.24). Robin Taylor won the pole vault (11 feet even).

Breanna Olason got seventh in the 100 and third in the 200. Breanna Adams got eighth in the 100 and seventh in the 200. Kiersten Sigfusson got second in the 400. Chanel Colinares got third in the 100 meter hurdles and eighth in the 300 meter hurdles. Adams, Colinares, Olason and Taylor got fourth in the 4x100 and Adams, Sigfusson, Olason and Morrison won the 4x200 (1:45.36).

In the field events, Penina Laolagi and Gaby Avena qualified in the shotput. Tusapa Laolagi, Avena,  Ashley Tyree and Melina Avena all qualified in the discus. Jordan Oldham got a sixth in the javelin. Olivia Moore got a seventh in the long jump and a sixth in the triple jump.

In each preliminary event, the top three finishers plus the next two best times or distances qualified Wednesday, May 20, for Friday’s finals. The finals in the 1600 were run after press time.