Candidate filing week starts May 6


Filing week is fast approaching for Washington state citizens who want to run for public office in the upcoming 2024 elections.

Election filing week opens 8 a.m. Monday, May 6 and runs until 5 p.m. Friday, May 10. The deadline to withdraw candidacy is 5 p.m. Monday, May 13.

The following local positions are up in the election:

• State representative for the 42nd Legislative District positions 1 and 2. The two-year positions are currently held by Alicia Rule (D-Blaine) and Joe Timmons (D-Bellingham).

• All four Whatcom County Superior Court judges. The four-year, nonpartisan positions are currently held by Robert E. Olson, Evan Jones, Lee Grochmal and David E. Freeman).

• Court of Appeals, Division 1, District 3 Judge Position 1. The six-year, nonpartisan position is currently held by Cecily Hazelrigg.

• Public Utility District No. 1 Commissioner District 1. The two-year, unexpired term for the nonpartisan position represents south and southeast Whatcom County. The position was left vacant when Christine Grant resigned May 1.

• Public Utility District No. 1 Commissioner District 2. The six-year, nonpartisan position representing northeast county is held by Atul Deshmane.

• Charter review commission. The Whatcom County charter is reviewed every 10 years by a commission made up of members serving one-year terms. Three candidates from each county council district are elected in the November election (they bypass the August primary).

• Precinct committee officer positions in Whatcom County. The positions are two-year terms. 

In addition to local positions, a number of state and federal positions will be up in the November election. Those positions include U.S. Senator (incumbent Maria Cantwell), U.S. Representative (Rick Larsen), Governor (Jay Inslee), Lt. Governor (Denny Heck), Secretary of State (Steve Hobbs), State Treasurer (Mike Pellicciotti), State Auditor (Pat McCarthy), Attorney General (Bob Ferguson), Commissioner of Public Lands (Hilary Franz), Superintendent of Public Instruction (Chris Reykdal), Insurance Commissioner (Mike Kreidler), Supreme Court Justice Position 2 (Susan Owens), Supreme Court Justice Position 8 (Steve Gonzalez) and Supreme Court Justice Position 9 (Sheryl Gordon McCloud).

Candidates will file with the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office or the Washington Secretary of State’s Office, depending on the position. The Secretary of State accepts filings for all federal, statewide executive, legislative, court of appeals and superior court positions, while the county auditor’s office accepts filings for all other offices.

Candidates may file their declaration of candidacy online, by mail or in person for both the auditor’s office and secretary of state. For more information on filing, visit the county auditor’s website at or the Secretary of State website at


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here